Clearly, fish is not meat. I shall demonstrate:
Consider this jar of "herring in cream sauce". Note that the ingredients include herring and sour cream.
Now note the hekhsher. It is classified as "kosher, dairy". Since kosher prohibits the mixing of meat and milk, and this is milchik, clearly the herring parts are not meat.